An Epiphany Moment Struck Today

As I was sitting at my desk, daydreaming of things I’d rather be doing with my time, it occurred to me that I used to write on a daily basis. I literally would come home from school and unwind by putting pen to paper. Like most adolescents, I had no clue what ‘real world problems’  were, so my writings consisted of who I was dating, the sports I were playing and who else I was crushing on at the moment. Boys, athletics and girlie drama, oh to be that young and naïve again! Why we were in such a hurry to grow up is beyond me.

Back to the real world: My desk job, like so many others, consists of a 9+ hour day. I can’t speak for everyone when I say this, but my job is the kind of job that makes you want to bang your head against the desk. Every.Single.Day. Not the kind of life I had envisioned for this twenty-something gal.

How many people can say they’re actually doing what they went to school for? I can list a handful of my friends who were fortunate enough to know exactly what they wanted to do at the age of 18 and pursued it. I am in awe of those people. I wish my dreams back then were as clear as they are today.

So you’re wondering why this twenty something gal is now considering writing, eh? Truth is, while I’m thankful to have a decent paying job with good benefits, I’m dying of boredom. I need a creative outlet. I am a creative person by nature stuck in a boring job. About a year and a half ago, I had my dream job (or what I thought to be my dream job). I thought I had everything figured out. I uprooted my life, took a chance and moved to a new city, not knowing a single person. Moved into a house with complete strangers and had dreams on changing the world. I took a job as a General Manager running two group fitness facilities.   Life was good. Quickly I found out that taking a salaried position and working 100+ hour work weeks were not for me. I kept up this crazy routine for a year. Looking back, I don’t know how I did it. I was a walking zombie. I was living and breathing health and fitness, taking care of everyone but me. It didn’t matter. I absolutely loved what I was doing; helping people reach their fitness goals and educating them on lifestyle changes was the most satisfying/rewarding job I have ever had.  I have aspirations on getting back into this line of work someday (soon).

With this blog, I will be speaking mostly about Crossfit, WODS, weight-lifting, and random shenanigans.  I hope to entertain you, at the very least. 🙂

Leave a Reply

