Hey there- it’s Sheena! Remember me?

I haven’t blogged lately so I’m doing a “Blogging 101” challenge to get the creative juices flowing again. Our first entry on this challenge is an introductory piece. Without any further ado, here is it:

My name is Sheena and I started blogging because I needed a creative outlet to escape the mundane tasks of my current 9-5 gig. I’ve written for as long as I can remember. Writing has always come natural to me and I’ve used it to journal and clear my head. I remember I began writing a novel in middle school and realized I had no purpose/plot so I destroyed it. Looking back, I wish I had it to see where my creative mind was wondering off to.

This blog began with a primary focus on athletics, strength and conditioning, and CrossFit. As an athlete and nutrition nut, I dabbled in topics relevant to those areas. Currently I’m looking at revamping my blog to offer more categories and not limit it to those specific areas.

As a person who admires those with depth, I want to write about different areas I’m passionate about: athletics, sport psychology, cooking, traveling, pets, sewing, books, and random thoughts.

Per our instructions, this entry is to be posted ‘as is’ and doesn’t need to be perfect, which is hard for me! As a perfectionist, I tend to overanalyze things which is more or less the reason why I haven’t blogged lately.I also find it challenging to stay focused in the summer months as I’d rather be outside soaking up the sun, boating on the lake, and playing softball than being stuck inside sewing and writing. As much as I love to sew and write, my creativity and eagerness to conquer them both plummet immensley when summer comes.

My goal(s) with blogging include- engaging my audience with my topic selection, wit, and humor, and hopefully getting away from the boring job I currently have leaping into a creative field (i.e. writing) full-time.

So there you have it- a brief introductory post which will hopefully transpire into more frequent blog posts!

Leave a Reply

